The Tao of Gaming

Boardgames and lesser pursuits

Dominion on BSW

Now that you can play Dominion on BSW, you don’t need to hear my opinion on it.

On the one hand, I think that a very good model for game designers is to get a passionate 20%. If 20% of the gamers love your game, you’ll get better sales than if 80% consider it OK to Good. (I first heard this idea for cars, where it certainly applies much more than games; since gamers don’t just buy a single unit every few years, but the idea holds).

I’m pretty sure I’m not in Dominion’s passionate crowd. I mean, I watched a game or two and then felt no strong urge to play. Despite there being a distinct lack of gaming recently. I did get in another game of Tribune, which I’m still enjoying and now ready to get past the Carpe Diem victory conditions…

Update:OK, so I was particularly grumpy last night. I’ll get around to playing Dominion on BSW today or soon, I imagine.

Written by taogaming

October 21, 2008 at 9:46 pm

Posted in Artificial Opponents, Ramblings

Tagged with

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I think Dominion is particularly suited for online play, given this solves the shuffling problem. If they’ve been clever and allowed for near simultaneously play (during early rounds), then I think games should fly…

    Tom_Lehmann

    October 22, 2008 at 8:55 pm

  2. Yeah, I do think you were a little hasty in your judgment. I think the buzz machine has gotten a out of hand, but it’s at least worth trying a couple of times. There are some neat ideas, but there are also a couple of things about it that bug me, and some (random) combinations of cards are deadly dull to play with.

    Linnaeus

    October 22, 2008 at 10:39 pm

  3. I was thinking today that simultaneous play would be interesting, but you would probably need to add so many rules that it wouldn’t speed things up so much.

    Brian

    October 22, 2008 at 10:50 pm


Comments are closed.

