The Tao of Gaming

Boardgames and lesser pursuits

Let’s see …

Played Win Place and Show. Pretty much like I remembered it.

Still tapping my foot impatiently.

Monsterpocalypse? Pretty. Too expensive, but pretty.

Ya’ll enjoy Essen, and on an unrelated note, here are some chickens playing scrabble.

Update: Pretty much like I remembered it equals “In theory vaguely interesting, but too long and fiddly.”

Written by taogaming

October 14, 2008 at 9:22 pm

Posted in Misc

Tagged with ,

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Pretty much like I remembered it provides exactly zero value to those of us who don’t share your memories. Which, in this case at least, I do not. So do you remember it fondly? How does it compare to Turfmaster? I’m starting to aggressively increase my family game awareness as my son keeps asking for new board games to try. Although at this point WPS wouldn’t be satisfactory as his specific request last weekend was:

    “Daddy. Can you teach us a new board game tonight, with fighting?” I went with simplified Battlelore.

    Lou

    October 15, 2008 at 2:53 pm

  2. I actually think that WPS is a very good family game, Lou. It can run a bit long (close to 3 hours if you run all six races), but there’s no reason why you can’t just play a subset of these during a single session if you prefer. There’s a good mix of luck and skill and it plays well with gamers of all ages. Alas, no fighting (although I guess you could introduce the Circus Maximus rules if you wanted to spice things up).

    Larry Levy

    October 15, 2008 at 9:21 pm

  3. A bunch of us played WPS at the Gathering in April. We bailed after two races. The decisions seemed obvious and were often overwhelmed by luck. And it really wasn’t much fun; by the second race, players were gambling wildly figuring that if they lost, they’d quit playing, and if they won, they’d have such a lead that they could convince the others to quit playing 🙂

    JeffG

    October 20, 2008 at 11:25 am


Comments are closed.

