The Tao of Gaming

Boardgames and lesser pursuits

Outburst Squared

I saw Chad Orzel’s two-word lyric quiz and instantly thought of outburst. A great idea, Outburst. It takes something everyone knows, but rotates it orthogonally. Kind of like asking people to name words that have “K” as the fourth letter. You never think about it that way. Anyway, I got none of them right, but I had a few hours drive time so I thought of some. Add your own.

From the following two words, can you name any of these songs? Answer in the comments, but just give a full line from the song…) and feel free to leave more. Hopefully I’ve put a few gimmes in, but these are surprisingly hard (for me at least).

  1. my anaconda
  2. protein pill
  3. fruit machine
  4. hickory stump
  5. liar’s chair
  6. screaming argonauts
  7. beat incomplete
  8. Doris Day
  9. tension wires
  10. passionate guy
  11. lonely satellite
  12. doubly blessed

Written by taogaming

October 4, 2008 at 7:46 pm

Posted in Non-Gaming

Tagged with

27 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. My anaconda don’t want none unless you got buns hon.
    Take your protein pills and put your helmet on.

    Mark Haberman

    October 4, 2008 at 8:48 pm

  2. Jumped up on a hickory stump and said Boy, let me tell you what
    Well I’m not the world’s most passionate guy

    Chris Okasaki

    October 4, 2008 at 11:18 pm

  3. And a few more…

    13. lost shaker
    14. cartoon balloons
    15. supermarket checkout

    Chris Okasaki

    October 4, 2008 at 11:24 pm

  4. I would have killed Jason off and a thousand screaming argonauts

    I think I know what song #8 is from but I have no hope of quoting that particular line.

    tool

    October 5, 2008 at 12:43 am

  5. I would have killed Jason off and a thousand screaming argonauts

    I think I know what song #8 is from but I have no hope of quoting that particular line.

    tool

    October 5, 2008 at 12:43 am

  6. I wear this crown of shit (or thorns!) on my liar’s chair

    Mikko

    October 5, 2008 at 7:20 am

  7. I got one!

    13. “Searching for my lost shaker of salt.”

    And I always thought it was “Countless screaming argonauts” … good thing I used the last two words.

    Brian

    October 5, 2008 at 10:32 am

  8. It might well be “countless.”

    tool

    October 5, 2008 at 11:23 am

  9. It might well be “countless.”

    tool

    October 5, 2008 at 11:23 am

  10. It might well be “countless.”

    tool

    October 5, 2008 at 11:23 am

  11. 8. You make the sun shine brighter than Doris Day.

    12. Ain’t no doubt about it, we were doubly blessed
    ‘Cause we were barely seventeen and we were barely dressed.

    14. Levon sells cartoon balloons in town.

    And yet more:

    16. Beardsley prints
    17. gypsy leathers
    18. one-way street
    19. ragged people
    20. mohair suit

    Larry Levy

    October 5, 2008 at 12:48 pm

  12. I’ve always heard countless as well.

    8. Harry Truman, Doris Day, Red China, Johnny Ray
    11. I xxxxxxx Cold Day xxxxx a Lonely Satellite [Just can’t figure out those words)

    16. your fashion sense, Beardsley Prints
    19. Seeking out the poor quarters where the ragged people go
    20. she’s got electric boots and a mohair suit

    21. This monstrosity
    22. Suburban skies
    23. Leper messiah

    Lou

    October 5, 2008 at 1:41 pm

  13. 22. Penny Lane…beneath the blue suburban skies.
    18. Going’ the wrong way down a one-way street.

    JeffG

    October 6, 2008 at 10:00 am

  14. These may be a bit easy…

    24. Italian poet
    25. Spiral light
    26. Crab-tree sticks

    JeffG

    October 6, 2008 at 10:09 am

  15. 10. Well, I’m not the world’s most passionate guy

    JeffG

    October 6, 2008 at 10:15 am

  16. 24. Just like that Italian poet from the 13th century

    and more notably I actually heard one of Brian’s original 12 on my Ipod this morning. I was singing along and BAM!

    9. With a purposeful grimace and a terrible sound he pulled the xxxxxx high-tension wires down. Godzilla!

    Lou

    October 6, 2008 at 10:25 am

  17. 24. Just like that Italian poet from the 13th century

    and more notably I actually heard one of Brian’s original 12 on my Ipod this morning. I was singing along and BAM!

    9. With a purposeful grimace and a terrible sound he pulled the xxxxxx high-tension wires down. Godzilla!

    Lou

    October 6, 2008 at 10:25 am

  18. I think #24 starts “Written by an” but there must be thousands of variations with all the covers. “Carpenter’s wives” might be a better 2-worder from that song.

    JeffG

    October 6, 2008 at 10:32 am

  19. I think #24 starts “Written by an” but there must be thousands of variations with all the covers. “Carpenter’s wives” might be a better 2-worder from that song.

    JeffG

    October 6, 2008 at 10:32 am

  20. Re: #24. I suspect I conflated ‘Just like that book by Nabakov’ with the actual line.
    After all Nabakov : Dante : : Sting : Dylan, right? It’s an easy mistake to make.

    Lou

    October 6, 2008 at 11:12 am

  21. Many think that Italian poet is Dante, but Dylan never said.

    JeffG

    October 6, 2008 at 11:26 am

  22. Many think that Italian poet is Dante, but Dylan never said.

    JeffG

    October 6, 2008 at 11:26 am

  23. 15. Lead you to the supermarket checkout/
    some specials and rat food

    JeffG

    October 6, 2008 at 11:47 am

  24. 15. Lead you to the supermarket checkout/
    some specials and rat food

    JeffG

    October 6, 2008 at 11:47 am

  25. 18. Going’ the wrong way down a one-way street.

    I actually had another song in mind for one-way street. It might be too common a two-word phrase.

    Larry Levy

    October 6, 2008 at 11:55 am

  26. 18. Going’ the wrong way down a one-way street.

    I actually had another song in mind for one-way street. It might be too common a two-word phrase.

    I had no idea which song that uses that phrase you had in mind πŸ™‚ It’s in a bunch of them. There’s also “You’re headin’ down a one-way street,” which is also pretty common.

    JeffG

    October 6, 2008 at 3:59 pm

  27. 18. Going’ the wrong way down a one-way street.

    I actually had another song in mind for one-way street. It might be too common a two-word phrase.

    I had no idea which song that uses that phrase you had in mind πŸ™‚ It’s in a bunch of them. There’s also “You’re headin’ down a one-way street,” which is also pretty common.

    JeffG

    October 6, 2008 at 3:59 pm


Comments are closed.

