The Tao of Gaming

Boardgames and lesser pursuits

Race and Worker Placement comment thread

As race expansion spoilers pop up, young lifeforms’ thoughts turn towards malevolence, sweet malevolence. I’m tempted to buy the 2nd printing just to have a lighter set. And a spare. Oh yes, a spare.

Anyway, since Luke H just left a comment in an alternate thread, only to have it’s comment period expire, I figured I’d answer it here.

Luke wrote:

Have you considered games with mechanics that are functionally equivalent to worker-placement, but don’t have actual worker tokens? The two that always come to mind are In the Shadow of the Emperor and Im Auftrag des Königs. The former has a money system on top of the actions, but just think of that as different number of workers and different costs of actions in number of workers. Actions taken are not available for others, with 1 exception. Seems equivalent to me. The latter uses a very straightforward drafting of 3 actions. The only difference would be physically taking the card vs. putting a marker on the card. Are there any other games like this, with drafting actions?

I only played ITSoE once (3 years ago). I haven’t played Auftrag. I guess that doesn’t count as “answering”, so I’ll throw open the question to the floor. Along with any malevolent thoughts you may wish to share.

Written by taogaming

September 24, 2008 at 10:17 pm

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’ll buy a second copy of the main game for three reasons.

    1) I’ll want to keep the simpler base game set available for teaching. Especially for my six year old to learn over the next year or two.
    2) I’d like to own the lighter artwork.
    3) I’m probably going to skip the card sleeves this time, because shuffling is already at my limit of tolerance with just the first set, and I’ll want all the cards to be at the same level of wear.

    Lou

    September 25, 2008 at 9:35 pm

  2. I’ll buy a second copy of the main game for three reasons.

    1) I’ll want to keep the simpler base game set available for teaching. Especially for my six year old to learn over the next year or two.
    2) I’d like to own the lighter artwork.
    3) I’m probably going to skip the card sleeves this time, because shuffling is already at my limit of tolerance with just the first set, and I’ll want all the cards to be at the same level of wear.

    Lou

    September 25, 2008 at 9:35 pm

  3. Like you, Brian, I’ve only played Emperor once and have never played Auftrag. So I checked out their rules on the Geek. Both look like Worker Placement games to me. Emperor uses knights to claim the spaces, which is as near to workers as dammit. Players can either place or move their knights, so I’m not sure if the same piece can be played more than once in a turn or if they stay on their space until next turn; neither of these are classic WP, but I’d still say the game features Worker Placement. Auftrag also features WP mechanics. I think the action cards are picked up instead of workers being placed on them, but it works out to the same thing.

    So yes, it sounds as if both are Worker Placement games. Both also came out a year before Caylus did. Nice catch by Luke.

    Larry Levy

    September 25, 2008 at 9:36 pm

  4. Hey Larry,

    I think you are remembering slightly wrong. In Emperor, there are actions that you buy/draft, in turn order. One of them is moving/placing knights, but the knights serve other purposes. They are not the “workers” at all. Check the cards here: http://www.boardgamegeek.com/image/260256 You draft/buy these. That’s the “worker placement” part, imho. Drafting action cards is the same as “wp” in my mind. Can anyone think of other games that do this? There has to be more, right?

    Luke Hedgren

    October 2, 2008 at 8:57 am


Comments are closed.

