The Tao of Gaming

Boardgames and lesser pursuits

Games which I have revisited

and other notes…

This week saw my 50th game of Glory to Rome. Rarified air for any title. We’re pulling this out less often, but it’s a reasonable mid-length filler.

Meanwhile, Agricola remains the game of choice for us. I don’t know how many levels of expertise it has, but I’m one ahead of the local crowd. (Which I suppose is fair, since I’ve played a dozen more games).

[Incidentally, I’m tempted to organize a ‘shark game’ of Agricola by email and have the players comment on it. Do any sharks have an interest in such a thing? I’m mainly curious because it would give me an idea how much distance there is between myself and said sharks.]

Played a few games of Race with the expansion homeworlds. Soon, my precious.

[Picked up Tribune, based on general clucking. One of my rare ‘purchase before play’ in the last few years. Earlier it was common enough, though]

I really like this essay by Nassim Taleb called “The fourth quadrant.” Not gaming, but general thought about probability, skepticism, and the limits of knowledge.

Rock Band 2 has greatly impacted our game night; we’ve lost 3-4 souls for the near future. I continue to curse the Wii, but at least I’ve got Rock Band (albeit a neutered one). I assume that enterprising souls are planning to bring a copy with a projection screen to BGG Con. Aren’t they? (If so, I may even attend).

Written by taogaming

September 17, 2008 at 6:13 pm

Posted in Ramblings

Tagged with , ,

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Per Dirk on BGG : “I’m certain our mega rock band set-up will be available…
    (projector/screen &portable PA system) ”

    SeanP

    September 17, 2008 at 6:34 pm

  2. And I’m gunning for you in Agricola. 4 games under my belt, with one win. I just need to arrange some plays of the game that you aren’t in, so I can catch up in the experience race…

    SeanP

    September 17, 2008 at 6:36 pm

  3. I’ve got 38 plays logged though I don’t really consider myself a shark. I’d take part in an email game though, for science. 😀

    Greg Williams

    September 17, 2008 at 7:17 pm

  4. I’ve got 38 plays logged though I don’t really consider myself a shark. I’d take part in an email game though, for science. 😀

    Greg Williams

    September 17, 2008 at 7:17 pm

  5. Last year they had Guitar Hero with nice speakers and a projector. And yes, Dirk has confirmed the above. I asked.

    Rob

    September 17, 2008 at 10:13 pm

  6. Oh, and Tribune? I enjoy it quite a bit. You have to know though that:

    1. It’s no Die Macher
    2. The randomness of the cards can significantly affect gameplay, in a game that is all about building sets of cards, but…
    3. …to me, that’s not much of an issue when there are many ways to get these (multiple actions to chose from), AND the game plays in almost under 1hr.

    Being that it’s so quick (games last 3-5 rounds), there is no room for mistakes like failing to take over a faction (ie there’s not much time to recover from that). Of course if you lose, a replay of this quick game is all it takes to try again.

    Rob

    September 17, 2008 at 10:20 pm

  7. I’d be in for a Shark Game of Agricola… I am going to BGG.Con this year, so maybe it could even be face-to-face.

    I have had 2 more losses in the past few weeks, so either I am getting worse, or everyone else is getting better.

    David Fair

    September 18, 2008 at 8:03 am


Comments are closed.

