The Tao of Gaming

Boardgames and lesser pursuits

Stuff around the web

Am I the only one who dislikes the proliferation of video reviews? I guess so.

I saw Tomb in the store and thought it was a munchkin ripoff (from the tagline). On reading reviews (and watching one, sigh) it sounds better but I’m not buying it.

Played a few games of the Shadows over Camelot expansion, but with the wrong rules. I’ll probably get a copy. I haven’t seen BSG, but it’s up my alley so I’ll try it. [I used to watch the show religiously. Hint to network execs — 18 months between seasons is long enough to kill my desire to watch the show. Even 5 months is normally long enough to make me go “What was I thinking?” I’m looking at you, Sarah Conner Chronicles. Although I know the answer.]

Bruno’s preview of Confucius looks intriguing. Ditto Witch’s Brew (albeit more chaotic than what I’m used to).

I’m probably the last person (at least, the last game blogger) to know about Le Havre. Actually, it had completely slipped my notice that we’re in the “pre-Essen hype” part of the year. Sounds like there will be a few items for me this year, hopefully. On the other hand, the last year has been good for my Friendless stat.

Anyone played Conflict of Heroes yet? Still haven’t seen it out.

Written by taogaming

September 11, 2008 at 3:31 am

Posted in Misc

13 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I haven’t watched a single video review… Ok, I did watch the intro to Scott Nicholson’s Blue Moon City review, but even in that case I skipped the actual review.

    My 2008 looks just as dismal, only Metropolys has made an appearance. My top four years are, in this order, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007 – and then this year falls completely flat.

    Then again, it’ll take a while – this time next year 2008 will look much better as I have played the Essen stuff (AOS expansions, Winsome Games stuff, likely Le Havre).

    Mikko

    September 11, 2008 at 5:42 am

  2. Personally, I think “ugh” on video reviews. I feel pretty much the same way about podcasts (gasp!). I tend to take in a lot of information every day (I have to do something while avoiding work) and it’s much easier and effective for me if I can scan, skip, and more quickly find the salient points. Videos and mp3s force me to take in the information at their pace, not mine, and I usually find that painful. Keep writing, Brian!

    Kevin O'Brien

    September 11, 2008 at 8:34 am

  3. I like video reviews because I have no other way to see a game in action before buying it. I do not live in a board game heavy environment and tend to be the instigator.

    MrHen

    September 11, 2008 at 9:58 am

  4. I’m all for video reviews. The more, the better. For me, it’s the best way to really get a sense for whether I want to play/buy a game, as if I’m at a game group and someone is explaining the rules and showing all of the components and how it all works together… but then if I don’t really care for how it sounds I’m not obligated to actually play. Or, more likely, I’m much more prepared to actually play the game when I have a chance to by having seen the video.

    Videos can be a huge help for understanding rules and gameplay compared to reading rulebooks, which is sometimes preferable but other times doesn’t really give the best sense of how to play a game. Looking at rule sets for games like Die Macher or Fury of Dracula or Senji or Agricola or Tigris &Euphrates makes my eyes and brain gloss over… I lose interest from the rules alone… but watching the video tutorials I feel like I could not only jump right in to play a game, but also compete somewhat in my first game.

    I understand the idea of being able to scan things at your own pace, but most of the videos can be downloaded, so you can easily jump through sections. I think there is somewhat of a disparity between the different people doing videos, as to their quality and effectiveness… sometimes I wish a different person had covered a particular game… but by and large, I think they’re done well and I hope people do more.

    Grudunza

    September 11, 2008 at 10:04 am

  5. My one play of Witch’s Brew (Wie Verhext) was very positive – it’s not really a 3 player game (the “challenge &risk losing it all, don’t challenge &get something small” mechanic works a lot better with 4-5 players) but it was still great fun.

    Fluff Daddy

    September 11, 2008 at 11:19 am

  6. My one play of Witch’s Brew (Wie Verhext) was very positive – it’s not really a 3 player game (the “challenge &risk losing it all, don’t challenge &get something small” mechanic works a lot better with 4-5 players) but it was still great fun.

    Fluff Daddy

    September 11, 2008 at 11:19 am

  7. I’m with you, Brian. I’d much rather read a review than watch a video. If it’s a game I’m only marginally interested in, I can skim a written review. I can’t do that with a video review. If I’m very interested, I can read in detail. Where I think video has some promise is in learning how to play the game videos. That’s useful.

    DoctorJ

    September 11, 2008 at 1:10 pm

  8. I’m with you, Brian. I’d much rather read a review than watch a video. If it’s a game I’m only marginally interested in, I can skim a written review. I can’t do that with a video review. If I’m very interested, I can read in detail. Where I think video has some promise is in learning how to play the game videos. That’s useful.

    DoctorJ

    September 11, 2008 at 1:10 pm

  9. I don’t particularly like video reviews, but that’s just me. I don’t own a TV, but I have thousands of books.

    JeffG

    September 11, 2008 at 3:57 pm

  10. I also don’t like the trend toward video reviews and have only watched a few by my buddy Ted Cheatham. Most people do a much better job summarizing their thoughts in print than vocally and I find it’s much easier to assimilate information through reading than by watching a film.

    I also have no interest in podcasts and have yet to listen to one. I’ve yet to see one that didn’t look to be longer than I wanted to listen to.

    Larry Levy

    September 11, 2008 at 5:32 pm

  11. I also don’t like the trend toward video reviews and have only watched a few by my buddy Ted Cheatham. Most people do a much better job summarizing their thoughts in print than vocally and I find it’s much easier to assimilate information through reading than by watching a film.

    I also have no interest in podcasts and have yet to listen to one. I’ve yet to see one that didn’t look to be longer than I wanted to listen to.

    Larry Levy

    September 11, 2008 at 5:32 pm

  12. I’m with you on the video reviews.

    I was one of the lucky Americans who was able to pick up Conflict of Heroes at Origins, so I’ve played a half-a-dozen times. I like it. Decent-sized scenarios play in an hour. It’s exciting and dynamic. It’s very easy to teach and learn.

    I don’t know if it’s got huge long-term staying power though. The combat results aren’t terribly nuanced, although the chit draws are clever. I’d still take one of Squad Leader’s incarnations on most days, but compared to other recent efforts in this area (Tide of Iron, Combat Commander, Lock ‘n Load, Panzer Grenedier), it’s a vast improvement.

    Chris

    September 11, 2008 at 8:02 pm

  13. I’m with you on the video reviews.

    I was one of the lucky Americans who was able to pick up Conflict of Heroes at Origins, so I’ve played a half-a-dozen times. I like it. Decent-sized scenarios play in an hour. It’s exciting and dynamic. It’s very easy to teach and learn.

    I don’t know if it’s got huge long-term staying power though. The combat results aren’t terribly nuanced, although the chit draws are clever. I’d still take one of Squad Leader’s incarnations on most days, but compared to other recent efforts in this area (Tide of Iron, Combat Commander, Lock ‘n Load, Panzer Grenedier), it’s a vast improvement.

    Chris

    September 11, 2008 at 8:02 pm


Comments are closed.

