The Tao of Gaming

Boardgames and lesser pursuits

Web Gems

May as well jump in on the Economist article. It’s shockingly accurate. Then again, I’ve always thought the Economist had a much better standard for reporting facts than most outlets. (What was it, Volokh’s Law — “Most people recognize how much the media messes up areas they understand, but still trust it when reading about things they don’t.”)

I’ll admit that Bocchie looks like fun. Then again, I’ve never seen anything involving Bruno Faidutti that didn’t.

Based on a comment from Mikko, I looked at the vote on the Finnish Game of the Year award. That’s when I remembered that Finnish and Swedish aren’t nearly close enough to let me parse things out. Not that my Swedish is that good. But you can decipher the previous years results.

Mikko also played some Mahjongg, which I’ve played from time to time. (For a few months a decade ago, we played several times with several scoring systems). It’s not bad at all … I prefer the scoring system where only the discarder pays the winner, since it allows for offensive and defensive play. (I also don’t play with Flowers as wild or automatic doublers, since theres no skill to that, but if I were doing it for just gambling purposes …). A copy of Mhing works well, since you can just pull the wilds and flowers and have a very portable MahJongg set. (The simplified scoring rules make for a nice introduction). And I’ll admit that the Wilds speed things up quite a bit. Jacqui and I taught another couple a year or two ago…

Playing lots of Bridge recently, and poorly. But Jeff Goldsmith updated his page again this month. If you play Bridge his archives are a gold mine.

Written by taogaming

August 29, 2008 at 10:50 am

Posted in Misc

Tagged with , ,

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Nightmare Bocce… Sounds like a hoot.

    SeanP

    August 29, 2008 at 11:34 am

  2. …and of course, that’s not the official Finnish Game of the Year (unfortunately I don’t run that award), but an unofficial gamer’s edition. The official ones, by the way, were just awarded to Bausack in family games and Modern Art in adult games.

    I like scoring systems where discarder pays, that’s the only reasonable way to play in my opinion. Though I do like the OIR system where every loser pays eight points and the discarder pays eight points + the value of the hand, which is at least eight points and often more.

    Mhing is an excellent game and a very good introductory Mahjong rule set (it’s pretty much a variant of Hong Kong Old Style, which would be my suggestion for a good newbie rule set anyway).

    Mikko

    August 29, 2008 at 12:27 pm

  3. And yeah, Finnish and Swedish are actually not related at all, they’re from completely different language families (Swedish is a Germanic language, Finnish is Fenno-Ugric). Plenty of loan words from Swedish to Finnish, though.

    Mikko

    August 29, 2008 at 12:29 pm

  4. My mom played Mah Jongg every week when I was growing up, so my brother and I both learned to play. It was fun, but this was the American version, with new combinations every year, and lots of wild cards, flowers, and luck.

    I’ve played Mhing as an adult and enjoyed it. It did seem as if the high scoring hands rarely were completed, because it was so much easier to go out quickly with a low score and not risk an opponent getting big points. Maybe it’s a game that needs to be played for money or over a long period of time to see these hands have their proper effect.

    Larry Levy

    August 29, 2008 at 2:16 pm


Comments are closed.

