The Tao of Gaming

Boardgames and lesser pursuits

Around the Web

Dale Yu posted previews of the Dominion art and apparently the game is on schedule for an October-ish release. The rules are also online. Dominion (like many CCGs) has vast chunks of the gameplay on the cards, which means that knowledge of the rules is necessary but not sufficient. I’ll probably pick this one up, but I’m not 100%.

Incidentally, I almost called Dominion an “organic” game; its a shorthand I’ve used to describe games where the rules form the seed of gameplay, but other aspects determine it (such as card text). I have no idea where I got that from, and I’m not sure its correct. Just thinking aloud …

Slow to the party, but I just noticed The Dice Tower did their 2007 awards … as always, awards provide a good way to bicker. I can’t argue with Race for game of the year, though.

I almost wrote a post in response to Eric Martin’s “Publisher’s can’t win” article, but I’ll just note it. In general, if they aren’t holding my money for extended periods of time, I complain just to grumble about something.

Written by taogaming

August 20, 2008 at 11:21 am

Posted in Misc

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I think the term ‘Emergent Gameplay’ might be applicable as well. I’ve only played once, but I’m somewhat dubious about the 15-20 minute play times people are having, unless that’s only 2-player. I felt like it was too long and repetitive, but I’m sure I just need to play it more. I’ll probably end up buying it just because I like games with tons of different card powers, and it has the potential to be really good.

    Mark Haberman

    August 20, 2008 at 3:23 pm

  2. Keep an eye open for the new LCG format from Fantasy Flight. Game of Thrones and Call of Cthulhu were both CCGs, but this fall they’ll switch over and you can get the “cards with powers” fix without all the collectible nonsense. Call of Cthulhu, in particular, is supposed to have some very interesting gameplay that should appeal to boardgamers.

    Myself, the only CCGishness I see in Dominion is the deckbuilding. There are just too few different cards, and all public, for it to feel like what I want or expect out of a CCG. Which isn’t a knock, as it seems clever, but I just read “500 cards” and had a different expectation. I’m sure I’ll get over it.

    Jon Waddington

    August 20, 2008 at 4:52 pm

  3. I’m interested by Dominion, but I’m concerned it may suffer the same problem I have with deckbuilding in most CCGs, which is that the best deck tends to be one that contains as few card types as possible. If this is the case, you’ll only tend to buy 2 or 3 card types each game, which doesn’t seem hugely interesting. It’s definitely something I’ll keep an eye on though.

    Kester Jarvis

    August 21, 2008 at 3:23 pm

  4. It depends entirely on what 10 cards you are playing with. In some situations a slim deck will be powerful, and you’ll be using your powers to trim the less useful cards out of your deck as you play. In others a bloated deck will be better, since there are ways to get bonus points for having more cards in your deck.

    Generally you are going to concentrate on two or three power cards during a game, but that’s because there are only 10 different power cards available. The bigger challenge is deciding between power cards, money cards so you can get better cards later or victory point cards.

    frunk

    August 22, 2008 at 8:54 am

  5. I rather liked the old CoC game, but I don’t need another habit.

    Brian

    August 22, 2008 at 6:57 pm

  6. The most powerful deck I have made so far, in terms of how fast it could buy VP’s was a deck that had 1 each of 6 different cards, and 4 of another. It was the synergy of powers on those 6 that made it so awesome.

    For those who have played and will appreciate this: Once I got everything bought, which took a while (around 10 turns), I was able to generate 16-20 coins per turn with this deck. I bought 2 provinces each turn for the last 4 turns of the game. This was faster than even I figured it would work.

    Frequently, however, a good deck relies less on a wide spectrum of abilities, and more on using the same abilities in a multiplicative fashion. Still, I am surprised on how many effective strategies I have seen work, even with just the starting 10 cards.

    David Fair

    August 24, 2008 at 4:29 pm


Comments are closed.

