The Tao of Gaming

Boardgames and lesser pursuits

After Binge, Purge

Just got back from the post office after shipping out a dozen odd games that I sold via my geeklist. I remember talking to Sumo a few (cough) years ago about trimming game collections down. At the time, it seemed unthinkable, but now the idea of keeping games that I’ll never play seems unreasonable.

(OK, I’ve got a few games that I will likely not play but are too good/collectable to let go. Crawl before walking, and all that). Of course, about half of my games played this year have been Race. In fact, the top four games (Race, Strat-o, Bridge and Glory to Rome) account for over half of the games logged. So I guess I don’t really need a 250 games. If I have one more sale (which seems likely) then I may actually slip beneath 200 games.

The shelf space is nice.

By the way, I just discovered that one of my Go books (The Nihon Ki-in Book of Proverbs) has 6+ used listings on Amazon, all for $90 or up. Has anyone sold books on Amazon? (And if any of my Loyal and Faithful readers want to buy my copy for $60, I’m game).

Written by taogaming

July 15, 2008 at 4:14 pm

Posted in Misc

Tagged with ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’ve used Amazon to sell books and electronic equipment (like a digital camera) that seemed to be going for good prices. I was very happy with the results. I sold a Canon DSLR camera for about $100 more than I could have on eBay. Books can take a while but you’ve really got nothing to lose. Be sure you’re aware of what their commission is…I think it’s something like 15%. Also FYI they won’t credit your account for 30 days unless you specifically request it.

    Clay (snoweel)

    Clay B

    July 15, 2008 at 5:49 pm

  2. Less than half of your games have been of Race? Piker… (I’m running at 68.7% at present.)

    While I admire those who can keep their collections to 200 games, I’ve never been close to getting there; my collection has remained in the 325-400 range for a decade now, though, which works for me. But even if I just pare down to the “must keeps”, I’m around 200, and I enjoy trying new games to much to stay there. But – I have played every game I own since the beginning of 2001, save for the three games I own which I’ve never played (none of which I owned at the start of June). Which reminds me – I need to try Knightmare Chess out on my sons…

    You’ve tempted me to go through and mark the “used to owns”…

    Joe Huber

    July 17, 2008 at 10:08 am


Comments are closed.

