The Tao of Gaming

Boardgames and lesser pursuits

I took the road less travelled

For someone who writes a game blog, I don’t play many new games. Just to bring that point home, Bruno’s nominees for game of the year. Of the 12 games listed, I’ve played — Three. And I only have a strong desire to play Tribune.

So this is a Zen game blog. We think about playing games. Om.

Clearly I do not love Age of Steam enough, since my 7 odd expansions feel like too many, when another 16 are coming out at Essen.

Om.

Written by taogaming

July 4, 2008 at 9:59 am

Posted in Ramblings

15 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You and me, brother. Three here as well (Glory to Rome, Kingsburg, Eketorp), and I only liked one. Of the rest, I might play Metropolys next week, I might want to try Pandemic, but the rest of it – I just don’t care that much.

    Jaded, I think that’s what it’s called.

    Then again, I did buy the new Bezier maps right away, without much thought, even though I already have, what, 18 expansions (which means over 30 maps, I suppose). Makes sense, especially since I playe about five games of AoS a year. But I admit, I’m an addict, and my willingness to collect railroad-themed games is getting unhealthy.

    Mikko

    July 4, 2008 at 11:09 am

  2. Well, I think I play a fair number of games, and I’ve only played half of them and Tribune only in the last couple of days. Also, two of the ones I played (AoEIII and Kingsburg) I felt were a waste of my time, so I think I could have done without playing them.

    Chris Farrell

    July 4, 2008 at 2:32 pm

  3. There’s only 3 of the 12 I haven’t played in any form: Senji (which just came out), Glory to Rome, and Wizard’s Gambit. I haven’t played Queen’s version of Eketorp, but I played the original db spiele game; and while I haven’t tried El Capitain yet, the game it came from, Tycoon, is a big favorite.

    It’s actually a pretty good group of games. Tribune, Kingsburg, and Shanghaien would have a good chance of making my top 12 from the time period (which looks like the same one covered by the SdJ awards). AoE is a good solid game. Pandemic is very popular (I’ve only had the chance to play it once) and Metropolys is well rated (just not by me). Senji also looks interesting; I just hope it doesn’t last too long. And El Capitan is a terrific game; I just don’t consider it new.

    My top favorites from the period (Brass and Agricola) aren’t there, but I’ve seen worse selections from Bruno’s award, so I can’t be too critical this year.

    Larry Levy

    July 4, 2008 at 6:09 pm

  4. There’s only 3 of the 12 I haven’t played in any form: Senji (which just came out), Glory to Rome, and Wizard’s Gambit. I haven’t played Queen’s version of Eketorp, but I played the original db spiele game; and while I haven’t tried El Capitain yet, the game it came from, Tycoon, is a big favorite.

    It’s actually a pretty good group of games. Tribune, Kingsburg, and Shanghaien would have a good chance of making my top 12 from the time period (which looks like the same one covered by the SdJ awards). AoE is a good solid game. Pandemic is very popular (I’ve only had the chance to play it once) and Metropolys is well rated (just not by me). Senji also looks interesting; I just hope it doesn’t last too long. And El Capitan is a terrific game; I just don’t consider it new.

    My top favorites from the period (Brass and Agricola) aren’t there, but I’ve seen worse selections from Bruno’s award, so I can’t be too critical this year.

    Larry Levy

    July 4, 2008 at 6:09 pm

  5. Wow, I’ve only played 2 of them (Glory, ok, and Pandemic, good) with only the strong desire to play two others (Kingsburg &Eketorp). Other than a general downturn in game playing and perhaps a less exciting crop, I blame/credit Race. I’ve already played it more this year than I’ve ever played a single game in a year. That sort of cuts into the “new game” playing time.

    Matthew

    July 4, 2008 at 7:12 pm

  6. Well, I don’t feel deprived by not playing all of them (and my Race playing is only averaging 3 games/week recently). Metropolys is just sitting on the game store shelf, unbought.

    Brian

    July 4, 2008 at 9:45 pm

  7. There are a number I want to try… om… but not as much as I want the newest wave of Heroscape figs, my pre-ordered copy of Agricola, or my own personal copies of Cheesy Gonzola &Jamaica.

    It’s not like Bruno &I see eye-to-eye re:games anyway – his Dragon’s Gold wins the “most hated rule” category in my book with the sanctioned cheating.

    Fluff Daddy

    July 4, 2008 at 10:25 pm

  8. Interesting list, and interesting comments here. I’ve played half of them, but most just once (and El Capitan was actually a play of Tycoon long ago). Of those six, I only purchased one myself (Scripts &Scribes). I say I’d be content to keep playing existing favorites, but my game buddies keep buying new stuff. Naturally, they want to try them, and who am I to stand in their way? 🙂 Although, I thought AoE III was a stinker, and Kingsburg is only passable.

    I was late to try Pandemic, but I see what the fuss is about. I was very impressed in my one play. Likewise for Metropolys, which was almost flying under my radar. Several Ystari games have underwhelmed me, so I almost missed this one. I’m glad I got to try it two nights ago.

    Of the remainder, I’m most interested in Tribun.

    Mark Johnson

    July 5, 2008 at 11:28 am

  9. Interesting list, and interesting comments here. I’ve played half of them, but most just once (and El Capitan was actually a play of Tycoon long ago). Of those six, I only purchased one myself (Scripts &Scribes). I say I’d be content to keep playing existing favorites, but my game buddies keep buying new stuff. Naturally, they want to try them, and who am I to stand in their way? 🙂 Although, I thought AoE III was a stinker, and Kingsburg is only passable.

    I was late to try Pandemic, but I see what the fuss is about. I was very impressed in my one play. Likewise for Metropolys, which was almost flying under my radar. Several Ystari games have underwhelmed me, so I almost missed this one. I’m glad I got to try it two nights ago.

    Of the remainder, I’m most interested in Tribun.

    Mark Johnson

    July 5, 2008 at 11:28 am

  10. Uh, I own two and have played none. (Glory and Pandemic)

    T. Derscheid

    July 5, 2008 at 3:08 pm

  11. In all honesty, the “16 expansions” thing is just marketing. The actual releases neatly break down into 3 expansions: the NH/Vermont hardboard (which can be combined into a third map), the Secret Blueprints series, and the special Essen map that comes with extra blueprints cards. I think Ted’s marketing in this particular case is backfiring because claiming there are 16 expansions makes people even more weary of the deluge than they would be otherwise.

    Michael Webb

    July 6, 2008 at 11:20 am

  12. In all honesty, the “16 expansions” thing is just marketing. The actual releases neatly break down into 3 expansions: the NH/Vermont hardboard (which can be combined into a third map), the Secret Blueprints series, and the special Essen map that comes with extra blueprints cards. I think Ted’s marketing in this particular case is backfiring because claiming there are 16 expansions makes people even more weary of the deluge than they would be otherwise.

    Michael Webb

    July 6, 2008 at 11:20 am

  13. Yeah, the ’16 expansions’ thing is really 3 expansions, and I do like the “mini-solo-boards” idea, but I’ve already got more AoS than I’ll ever need.

    Brian

    July 6, 2008 at 9:24 pm

  14. Oh, completely understandable, you and 99% of the user base out there (though about 50% of the same user base is in denial and will buy everything with the AoS attached to it anyway 🙂

    Michael Webb

    July 6, 2008 at 10:58 pm

  15. Bruno’s list is interesting – but shows yet again that Bruno and I aren’t on the same wavelength. I’ve played 8 of the games – counting Eketorp (which isn’t significantly changed from the version I played) but not El Capitan (which I understand is signficantly different from Tycoon). And Pandemic is the only one I actively want to play again; I’d consider playing Glory to Rome or Kingsburg if asked. On the other hand Metropolys is the least enjoyable release from a notable publisher I’ve played in some time (I think I’d have to go back to when I first played Assassin from Avalon Hill for a reasonable comparison), and I couldn’t find anything enjoyable in Shanghaien…

    w.r.t. Expansions – I like the mantra I saw a few months ago – Expansions are Evil. There are a few that are harmless (including the first Race expansion) and there’s Isfahan, which actually improves Samarkand notably, but they’re just the exceptions that prove the rule.

    Of course, I’m not a fan of Age of Steam anyway…

    Joe Huber

    July 7, 2008 at 12:24 pm


Comments are closed.

