The Tao of Gaming

Boardgames and lesser pursuits

Recent Actual Gaming



Apart from Bridge and Rock Band, a few other games have managed to hit the table.

Notre Dame remains a nice middle-length game from last year. Requires a little bit of thought, but isn’t really taxing. The sad part (for me) is that N.D. seems to have a ‘one-true path’ to victory. Actually, it’s more of a “one path to avoid.” Early game victory points are rarely worth forgoing resources for. (In last night’s game, I got 5 VPs in Turn 5, doubling my score, and won by a dozen points).

In the “Blast from the past” category (one that’s showing up more often) is “Two Hedgehogs #$(*ing in the dark.” [One point of Geek-cred to any who explains where I got that title from]. I’ve no doubt that the sheer number of included variants means that there’s one combination of 2+ variants that makes this the greatest game ever made. Sadly, the sheer number of included variants and my rate of play means the universe will end before I’ll discover it. So I’ve settled for just owning an amusing filler.

I don’t remember the last game’s name, but it’s a “Think of objects the fit the category.” Everyone gets 30 seconds to write down the answer, and then secretly bids a number they think they can read. Players read from low-number to high (with ties broken clockwise by the moderator, who moves around the table). And it’s boggle-style. Once someone says an answer it’s done. But whoever bid lower gets to score it. If you make your bid, you get it. If not, get zero. This scoring could be transported to any boggle-style game.

I should play Ticket to Ride:1910 more often. I slightly prefer Marklin, but 1910 has a much simpler setup. I also tried a second game of Nexus Ops, which works by giving plenty of incentive to expand and attack, and (almost) no incentive to turtle. Other designers should take note.

Written by taogaming

June 28, 2008 at 8:56 am

Posted in Session Reports

Tagged with , ,

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’ll claim the geek-cred!

    http://www.boardgamegeek.com/image/162744

    Iain

    June 28, 2008 at 2:56 pm

  2. Certainly a reasonable answer, but not what the judges were looking for.

    Brian

    June 28, 2008 at 4:11 pm

  3. I’ve got no clue about nocturnal fornicating hedgehogs, but the mystery game you described is Haste Worte. It was the first Kramer/Kiesling published game and dates back to 1997. It’s a wonderful party-style design and handles up to 8 players effortlessly. The problem is, a translation of the categories, which is essential for playing the game, has criminally never been posted. Thus, even if you found a copy of the game, you’d have a lot of work ahead of you before you could play it. I always try to take advantage of Kurt and Marian Adams’ translated copy at the Gathering and had the pleasure of introducing Mike Siggins to the game one year; he quite liked it.

    Larry Levy

    June 29, 2008 at 11:45 am

  4. Give Larry a cookie. We played Haste Worte with my home-brew set. I translated a handful of the categories from pictures of cards on the Geek to get an idea of the sort of things Kramer and Kiesling had in mind, and then made up a bunch on my own. We just play with the category cards, so the bash-the-leader mechanic K&K built into their scoretrack isn’t there.

    jeffwiles

    June 30, 2008 at 12:19 pm


Comments are closed.

