The Tao of Gaming

Boardgames and lesser pursuits

Fast Food Franchise

You know, until today I don’t think I’ve ever played FFF two-player. I expected it to be fun (and was surprised that “She Will Soon Be Nine, Don’t Forget Presents” suggested it). One of the subtle design decisions was, no doubt, making Ice Cream a suitable two-player option, since no child will open a chain of salad restaurants.

I’m preaching to the converted, I know. But for any heathens reading, get a copy. It’s a crying shame how few games are logged on BGG.

Written by taogaming

June 21, 2008 at 8:36 pm

Posted in Ramblings

Tagged with ,

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Man, you just ain’t whistlin’ Dixie – I think that FFF is one of the most underrated games out there. It’s also crying out for a high-end reprint… I’ve always hoped someone would give it the Big City treatment.

    Until then, folks wanting to play my copy just need to show up at the Fresno Gamers on Tuesday nights!

    Fluff Daddy

    June 21, 2008 at 11:57 pm

  2. My GOF highlight this year was winning the most competitive game of FFF I’d ever played. 4 players to start, and after one went out mid-game, the remaining 3 played for over an hour with trips around and around the board where just enough properties were hit to keep everyone in the game, but no one quite got enough to win. I think everyone had at least 3 times where if an opponent rolled the right number, they’d have taken it. Eventually the game length gave me the win as I’d started Ice Cream and had the entire east coast, with all 26 franchises on the board for the last quarter of the game.

    Lou

    June 22, 2008 at 10:19 am

  3. My GOF highlight this year was winning the most competitive game of FFF I’d ever played. 4 players to start, and after one went out mid-game, the remaining 3 played for over an hour with trips around and around the board where just enough properties were hit to keep everyone in the game, but no one quite got enough to win. I think everyone had at least 3 times where if an opponent rolled the right number, they’d have taken it. Eventually the game length gave me the win as I’d started Ice Cream and had the entire east coast, with all 26 franchises on the board for the last quarter of the game.

    Lou

    June 22, 2008 at 10:19 am

  4. I played one game (a few years ago) where Every single franchise space was occupied. (And I think all the advertising slots, too). Then the bankruptcies started…

    Brian

    June 22, 2008 at 11:08 am

  5. I’ve played most of my FFF games two-player, since my nephew and I played it like that a LOT. The one concern I had with it in that format is it seemed that you almost had to make your first business one of the big coverage companies (burgers or chicken, if memory serves) to stay competitive. Maybe that was just our groupthink, but it sure seemed that way to us.

    Larry Levy

    June 22, 2008 at 11:22 am

  6. I’ve played most of my FFF games two-player, since my nephew and I played it like that a LOT. The one concern I had with it in that format is it seemed that you almost had to make your first business one of the big coverage companies (burgers or chicken, if memory serves) to stay competitive. Maybe that was just our groupthink, but it sure seemed that way to us.

    Larry Levy

    June 22, 2008 at 11:22 am

  7. I haven’t read the rules in a while, but you can start a 2nd company as soon as everyone has a first company, which means that you could pretty easily start two companies quickly. So your first could be fairly much anything, depending on when/where you start it. (The old “Dark and Going when passing investment opportunity” opening comes to mind).

    Brian

    June 22, 2008 at 3:05 pm

  8. I know, but we usually focused on building up our first company as much as we could before diversifying into a second. At the very least, we wanted to get all of the markets onto the board first, to maximize the number of spaces where we could get a big payoff (once they were all linked). Again, I’m not saying it was the best strategy (although it seemed so at the time), just that we played it that way. Tom could probably prove to me the error of our ways with a few pithy comments.

    Larry Levy

    June 22, 2008 at 10:03 pm

  9. Ice Cream as an opener combined with Steak with a relatively small footprint as your hammer works quite well in the 2-player game. There’s some balancing issues managing your growth, but, mostly, you can concentrate on building Ice Cream to provide you lots of income and then gradually build up Steak to take out your opponent.

    Tom_Lehmann

    June 27, 2008 at 3:13 am


Comments are closed.

