The Tao of Gaming

Boardgames and lesser pursuits

Wii are still not amused

My loyal and faithful readers have never led me astray.

Sadly, several of you have now lost your “loyal and faithful” status, as my copy of Boom Blox shipped sans fun.I mean, it was more fun than a tie or shirt. But I was happy to turn it off after 30 minutes both times I’ve tried it. The kids seem amused, though. (I’ll admit that the competitive games may be fun, if I were playing against an adult).

And I think that the designers for the Wii really need to understand — I don’t play video games so that I can go through a menu every 1-2 minutes. This isn’t rocket science.

Rock Band appears to be shipping for the Wii next week, though.

Written by taogaming

June 16, 2008 at 10:57 am

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I got Lego Indiana Jones (Wii) and played it for hours with my kids. I was a bit disappointed in not getting Boom Blox (I had dropped some hints, based on this blog and some reviews), but…maybe I got the better one. Not enough time to play everything.

    With Rock Band on the way, get all your other video gaming wrapped up before it hits. I picked up a 360 just b/c of this dumb game–yes, pathetic–and you know, haven’t played a game of any kind this much, this often, my whole life. I will repeat the “yes, pathetic,” but there it is. 🙂

    Jon Waddington

    June 16, 2008 at 11:17 am

  2. Do you pull the stuffing out of teddy bears? Does your skin burn when rainbows appear? How else can you explain finding no fun in the Boom Blox box?

    The single-player adventure mode is a mixed bag, but trying to get a gold medal in the block-destroying levels (luckily, the first set you get in adventure mode) is super-fun. If you don’t care about medals, you can breeze through it– but the fun really comes from figuring out how to score the gold.

    The multiplayer modes are where the game really shines, though. Knocking blocks into multipliers, making stuff explode, hitting each other’s pucks– it’s all goodness. Unless your heart has calcified, crushing the spirit of fun that lived within.

    Sqwaaaaaawk! Big Boss.

    Peter Sarrett

    June 16, 2008 at 12:47 pm

  3. Do you pull the stuffing out of teddy bears? Does your skin burn when rainbows appear? How else can you explain finding no fun in the Boom Blox box?

    The single-player adventure mode is a mixed bag, but trying to get a gold medal in the block-destroying levels (luckily, the first set you get in adventure mode) is super-fun. If you don’t care about medals, you can breeze through it– but the fun really comes from figuring out how to score the gold.

    The multiplayer modes are where the game really shines, though. Knocking blocks into multipliers, making stuff explode, hitting each other’s pucks– it’s all goodness. Unless your heart has calcified, crushing the spirit of fun that lived within.

    Sqwaaaaaawk! Big Boss.

    Peter Sarrett

    June 16, 2008 at 12:47 pm


Comments are closed.

