The Tao of Gaming

Boardgames and lesser pursuits

Cha-ching



I finally got my blogging bling, so I’ve added it to the left sidebar.

As for gaming, I’ve played (and taught) some Bridge and Race. I’ve always thought of myself as a solid intermediate at Bridge, but it may be that I’m comparing myself to strong players (and usually playing with pickup partners). I’m going to try and start playing at least semi regularly (say, twice a month). That may interfere with new games. Oh well. I’ve already got my award.

If anyone knows of a free 1-page summary of Standard American (to give to novices) I’d appreciate it. So far the best I’ve seen is Karen Walker’s Cheat sheet, but that’s HTML (which means it doesn’t necessarily print well). I could also spring for some placemats, I suppose. [Or just build a word file].

Update: I’ve heard that the play mats are Goren (ish). Also, one emailer pointed me towards a 1-page Standard American Yellow Card summary, which isn’t bad, if I want to teach Transfers and Jacoby 2NT …

Written by taogaming

May 20, 2008 at 8:57 pm

Posted in Administration, Bridge

Tagged with

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Look at this crib sheet for the ACOL bidding system – I want to build one like this: http://www.nofearbridge.co.uk/crib_sheet.htm

    SeanP

    May 21, 2008 at 11:45 am

  2. Look at this crib sheet for the ACOL bidding system – I want to build one like this: http://www.nofearbridge.co.uk/crib_sheet.htm

    SeanP

    May 21, 2008 at 11:45 am

  3. I don’t think there is a good 1-page SA summary. Here’s a reasonable 8-page summary:
    ACBL’s Yellow Card Summary

    A good 100-page summary is “The Club Series” by Audrey Grant. An adult who reads fast can go through it in an hour or two.

    As you say, Karen Walker’s crib sheet is about 3 pages and is reasonable.

    These days, it’s just too hard to get everything onto a single page.

    JeffG

    May 28, 2008 at 6:10 pm


Comments are closed.

