The Tao of Gaming

Boardgames and lesser pursuits

I don’t feel like talking about games

I almost turned Cloverfield off several times, but persevered. Not bad, not great. I spent part of the movie trying to remember where I’d seen the Bad Robot logo before. (Guess who gave up on Lost in season 1).

If anyone says that schools are desperate for science & math teachers, well…. Here’s a hint, desperate people don’t make someone pony up $5,000 for the privilege of taking a pay cut. Desperate people, I don’t know, offer more money.

I finally watched Sarah Connor Chronicles (last week or two). A nice series, considering that absolutely nothing resolves. So, which was better, 9 hours of terminator or this one comic? Tough call.

I haven’t given up hope for the Orioles, although if they just stay at .500 that will be the first time in a decade. Here’s hoping. I’m not watching basketball. I’ll leave that to others.

Still haven’t started watching BSG season 4. (OK, saw the 1st ep). No spoilers in comments, please.

The Carebears would totally smash the smurfs in a fight. But could the Carebears make Batman happy? Tough call. I say yes, assuming they had a chance encounter (and he wasn’t stalking them for some reason … then they’re toast).

My daughter has informed me that Pokemon are real, under the many worlds interpretation of quantum mechanics. The kid who manages to get into that world will probably be the best trainer of all history, using their encyclopedic knowledge gleaned from CCGs and TV in this world (instead of having to traipse around the world to gain knowledge there).

I heard multiple Kabuki Actors this weekend (in multiple locations) make the exact same exasperated comment — “It’s a metal detector.” (Said after a person went through, got beeped, and then made a show of pointing to their multiple necklaces/bracelets/etc). I almost had sympathy for them, too.

Is there a single word for Kabuki actor? (Probably). Kabukist? Kabukijin?

Written by taogaming

May 11, 2008 at 11:24 pm

Posted in Non-Gaming

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’m not convinced the Care Bears have the cold hearted will to take out the Smurfs in a down and dirty fight. I don’t care what kind of super powered beams they can shoot from their chests.

    frunk

    May 13, 2008 at 10:27 pm

  2. I’m not convinced the Care Bears have the cold hearted will to take out the Smurfs in a down and dirty fight. I don’t care what kind of super powered beams they can shoot from their chests.

    frunk

    May 13, 2008 at 10:27 pm


Comments are closed.

