The Tao of Gaming

Boardgames and lesser pursuits

Wabash Component Quality

Since I played Wabash Cannonball at the Gathering with Ted Alspach’s set, I’ve never actually set eyes on a ‘real’ board until mine arrived this week.

And it wasn’t that bad. The map is quite functional. The paper money needs to be replaced, but that’s what poker chips are for. Clinky coins would be nice; but I’m not willing to spend $100 or so investing in them. Yet. I may print out nicer stock certificates, but overall I think the component quality is just fine (considering the print run, etc).

Written by taogaming

April 26, 2008 at 11:44 am

Posted in Ramblings

Tagged with

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Yeah, print out the pretty stock certificates (and perhaps the company sheets) from Geek and replace paper money with chips and it’s fine.

    The one thing I don’t get is why mines don’t have 1/1/3 listed in the hexes – that would make sense. Of course that’s something you learn soon (and probably that’s why it’s not on the board, as it felt like too obvious), but still, it would be nice. Also, background colour on hexes would be neat. Otherwise, I don’t have problems with the map, it was better than I expected.

    Mikko

    April 26, 2008 at 2:07 pm


Comments are closed.

