The Tao of Gaming

Boardgames and lesser pursuits

Thoughts about Thoughts

Larry does a wonderful job explaining why I have a “play no prototypes” rule, although I’m sure that wasn’t his intent.

I, on the other hand, wasn’t terribly impressed with Kingsburg or Airships. Stone age earned a few plays, but I don’t think I’ll be picking up a copy. I (obviously) didn’t try any of the prootypes.

I tried “In the Year of the Dragon.” It’s worth playing again, one of the ‘generally good but not huge’ Alea games. I could see this growing on me or … not.

I updated my geeklist on Tom’s games … I’m sure others knew he has a card game being published by Z-Man later this year, but I didn’t know. I did know about the Race Expansion, natch.

Update: Just to clarify one thing, I actually don’t mind playing prototypes during the rest of the year. Just FYI.

Written by taogaming

April 20, 2008 at 10:04 am

Posted in Misc

Tagged with ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Regarding ItYotD… The more I played it, the less I liked it. This is not a game that grows on you, but repels you with each new play. You cannot explore new strategies, and the game constantly hits you in the stomach with a baseball bat, and trying to keep the pain to a minimum loses all fun pretty quickly.

    David Fair

    April 20, 2008 at 12:12 pm

  2. Jeff, you may want to check out some of the Stone Age threads on the Geek, where some of the strategies (including the dreaded “starvation” strategy) are being discussed. It may convince you that there’s a little bit more going on than the direct conversion of dice rolls to VPs.

    Also, I wouldn’t consider Stone Age to be a dice game, certainly not like Airships is. Stone Age is a worker placement game which happens to use dice as a resolution device. I don’t think of Settlers as a dice game either and it certainly isn’t very short.

    Larry Levy

    April 24, 2008 at 12:11 pm


Comments are closed.

