The Tao of Gaming

Boardgames and lesser pursuits

Quick note from Colombus

Got in three new-ish games.

King of Siam is a partnership abstract with no communication. ‘Abstract’ means that I’m not likely to play it again, although the ‘partnership’ part intrigues me. But I’m working on squashing that thought.

Oregon has you placing meeples (w/Cowboy hats) and buildings on a grid. Each 2 rows (and three columns) are grouped by a symbol, and you playing two symbols (one for row, one for column) gives you 12 (or six) potential placements. I didn’t particularly care for it, but it wasn’t bad. I may play it again.

Stone Age was good enough to play twice, and I think I’d play it another 10+ times, but then I’d be done. It uses a “place your workers” idea, but there’s no order to resolving places and you can place one group at at a time. (Six of the spaces allow multiple workers, with most of them capping it at seven).

Anyway, it reminds me (in my reaction, not mechanisms) to St. Petersburg (also by Tummelhoffer, or part of him). I’ll explain more later.

I won 3 out of 5 games of Race yesterday, lost a close one and came in second (with 43 points) by over 15 points. Guess which one was a tournament game? Ah well, more cake for me.

Written by taogaming

April 8, 2008 at 9:06 am

Posted in Session Reports

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Brian, do you know if anyone else is blogging from the Gathering? I need my daily vicarious fix!

    Jasen Robillard

    April 8, 2008 at 10:39 am

  2. Looking forward to the longer comments on Stone Age. It looks pretty random at first blush, but Saint Petersburg has been a bigger hit with my group than it is with many gamers, so I’m curious to see the basis for comparison.

    Linnaeus

    April 8, 2008 at 12:40 pm


Comments are closed.

