The Tao of Gaming

Boardgames and lesser pursuits

Happy Belated Leap Day

I don’t know about you, but I celebrated by going to work. I have already gotten in my first March games of Race. So let’s look around the web:

I liked this comic on BGG.

Pitchers and catchers have reported …. and so have cards. I think we’re leaning towards a novel draft idea (at least, I’ve never heard of it applied to this format).

The Ticket to Ride card game is making the preview rounds. (Boardgamenews,
Bruno Faidutti). Designers hate it when I say “That game sounds like X mixed with Y”, so I’ll just think X and Y really hard and let ya’ll guess in the comments. (Or suggest others).

I’ll eventually go to the MSC and pick the answers I like. As usual, I don’t like my answer at the table. I still think Wei-Hwa’s 110% is the best answer.

“Time are bad, Children no longer obey their parents, and everyone is writing a book” — Cicero

Written by taogaming

March 2, 2008 at 9:26 am

Posted in Misc

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Pitchers and catchers have reported …. and so have cards. I think we’re leaning towards a novel draft idea (at least, I’ve never heard of it applied to this format).

    Brian, the one time I participated in a Rotisserie baseball season (back in the late eighties), we did the first part of this. There were six of us and we took the 12 National League teams (now you know it was a while ago!) and did a Settlers draft on them (except that Settlers hadn’t been published yet–our lawsuit is scheduled to go to docket in 2011). Every manager then took his two teams and pared them down to a 25 man roster and we started out. This worked very well for us, since it was fast and easy, we didn’t want prices on players (it was a non-cash contest), and, since the draft procedure led to teams with overkill in some positions and gaps in others, trading was encouraged. I can see where the procedure could lead to inequities, but it worked for us. The booster draft does sound like a good idea, though, although even that was more work than our group would have liked. So are you happy with your team?

    Larry Levy

    March 3, 2008 at 11:01 am


Comments are closed.

