The Tao of Gaming

Boardgames and lesser pursuits

Back Through the Ages

Last night I played (and taught) a game of Through the Ages. Did it change my opinion of the game? Not really.

One troubling aspect when discussing this game — so many ‘official’ ways to play. We played the 3 epoch full game (so no wars, no removing population at the end of the age). And since it was a two player game, no pacts. And a few rules were of the “Oh, we should have done that” variety.

Still, I had a fun time. Despite being militarily ahead for the second half of the game (and twice playing the “Steal 7 VP” aggression), I managed to almost go coast-to-coast while losing. (I was ahead for one turn).

So anyway, there’s a copy down here, which probably means my next 100 games of Race will take longer than the last hundred.

Update: Oh, may as well mention that the components a) an improvement and b) still annoying. The area for card drafting is too small (that may have been true in the original … was I playing with a modified set?). The wooden discs are easier to manipulate, but the see=through beads made reading costs easier. And there should just be more player markers. The rules looked cleaned up a bit, too.

The ideal set would use a cribbage style board for scoring (actually a four-player cribbage board would work well) to avoid bumping VPs around.

Written by taogaming

February 12, 2008 at 2:59 pm

Posted in Session Reports

Tagged with

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. But is it worth $69.95?

    Doug Orleans

    February 13, 2008 at 1:21 am

  2. Oh absolutely. I’m not convinced it’s worth my $69.95, but that’s a quibble.

    Brian

    February 13, 2008 at 5:38 pm


Comments are closed.

