The Tao of Gaming

Boardgames and lesser pursuits

Glory to Rome

Pretty much the only non-Race game to get any love over the last two months is Glory to Rome. The second edition changes a few cards (I need to update my building analysis…)

Today we got in another two games, and I still pull this out. There’s a tension between the need to get 1-2 cheap buildings finished (to increase your influence, which limits the number of clients and vault cards) versus getting out a large building, when can completely change the nature of the game. Our first game saw one player able to finish the Catacombs (which ends the game) fairly quickly, so the other players maneuvered to ensure that someone else always led in VP. Few goods got ‘stolen’ (put into a vault). Eventually the game ended by decking … a late Sewer let one player keep his stockpile slightly full after merchanting. So he got 4 cards to everyone else’s 1-2, which secured 2 bonus chips and the victory.

Our second game was merchant-rich, by comparison, with plenty of legionnaire (and anti-legionnaire) plays. A nice variety, with an ebb-and-flow nature to it.

Now that I’ve played a few times with the 2nd edition, I’ve got to say that I like pretty much all of the changes that were made. Race has succeeded beyond my wildest expectations, and I doubt I’ll have trouble finding opponents any time soon, so I’m glad that Glory’s influence is growing in San Antonio. Hopefully elsewhere, too.

Written by taogaming

January 26, 2008 at 8:03 pm

Posted in Session Reports

Tagged with

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Color me envious. I’ve been wanting to play GtR more, but Race is the game of choice when a “card game” is in the offing. The length of GtR is one sticking point, at least compared to Race. Looking forward to reading your analysis.

    Jon Waddington

    January 28, 2008 at 10:44 am

  2. One thing I considered later – I should have left the Catacombs with TWO items needed to finish it – it might not have tipped my hand so much. And at the endgame I only lost by two – it’s very possible I could have ended the game a few turns earlier for the win. My current area I need to strengthen, both in Glory To Rome and in Race For the Galaxy – be more aware of what your opponents are doing and where they stand in relation to me.

    SeanP

    January 28, 2008 at 11:47 am

  3. I believe awareness of the opponents situation comes from memorized knowledge of the cards. You use less brain power in processing card info the more you know them and can devote more thinking to what the opponent is doing. At least that has happened in my RFTG experiences.

    zzdroman

    January 29, 2008 at 1:39 am


Comments are closed.

