The Tao of Gaming

Boardgames and lesser pursuits

Misc thoughts

I got my new edition of Glory to Rome a few days ago. The designer had graciously agreed to trade anyone who had a prior edition. This is a huge cost (as he spent $7+ in shipping for me, and presumably every other person who took advantage of this).

In any sane year Glory to Rome would be my “Game of the Year” pick. With Phoenicia and Race hitting the streets … Anyway, the new cards are much nicer, and I’ll comment on gameplay changes at some point. Chuck also tossed in a copy of Aapep, which I’d never heard of. So I’ll try to get that to the table, too.

Boardgamenews is hosting the Boardgame Internet Awards, and the San Antonio Board Gamers have been nominated. (So have I (twice) … I knew those incriminating photos would pay off).

Let me say even I’m surprised to see Race in the BGG Top 40. (I was hoping for Top 100, and figuring it might just edge the Top 50. I even told J a few days ago it would peak in the mid-40s). Has the first printing really sold through (like one comment on BGG indicated?). (This fulfills my contractual obligations to mention this game in every post).

Written by taogaming

December 15, 2007 at 9:38 am

Posted in Misc

Tagged with

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. How does one go about doing the trade? I have a pristine copy of the old version of Glory.

    Ted

    December 15, 2007 at 11:47 am

  2. I like this blog the best.

    jacob

    December 15, 2007 at 12:10 pm

  3. To trade up Glory To Rome: Here’s the post on BGG – it’s in the news section, as “New Games for Old”

    http://www.boardgamegeek.com/article/1812718#1812718

    and I’m reticent to jinx Race, since rankings can change both ways, but I think it deserves to be the top Sci-Fi game…that said, there’s a lot of climbing to go to edge out TI:3.

    Warren

    December 15, 2007 at 4:04 pm

  4. As stated, there’s a post on BGG. However, I was under the impression that the designer said you had to get your trade request in by a certain date … which I think was September.

    Brian

    December 15, 2007 at 6:32 pm

  5. As stated, there’s a post on BGG. However, I was under the impression that the designer said you had to get your trade request in by a certain date … which I think was September.

    Brian

    December 15, 2007 at 6:32 pm

  6. I wouldn’t say “much,” but they are nicer. They have rounded corners and are a bit thinner. They still have that odd lamination that just doesn’t feel quite right. And the graphics are the same (as in, silly).

    But yes, it is a crazy-generous offer. I like the game a lot, so I’m going to push it on my friends and likely pick up a few copies for gifts as some sort of recompense for this generosity. I’m a little annoyed that none of my pet peeves about the game were touched in any way, so I guess I need to go see what was touched.

    Jon Waddington

    December 17, 2007 at 9:52 am

  7. Well, “much” nicer may be pushing it, but these cards feel fairly easy to shuffle, compared to the big chunk of cardboard in prior versions. For a deck that is a) huge and b) tends to clump suits because of gameplay, that’s important.

    I like most of the card changes I’ve seen (after 3 games) but have no particular thoughts yet.

    Brian

    December 17, 2007 at 6:53 pm


Comments are closed.

