The Tao of Gaming

Boardgames and lesser pursuits

Inside the Box — Hannibal: Rome vs Carthage

My copy of Hannibal: Rome vs Carthage arrived yesterday … here are some thoughts about Valley Games, really, since I haven’t played the game.

I’m mildly annoyed about the large lag between when I was charged for this and when it shipped. The interest generated on $50 for a few months isn’t important, but it does make me slightly nervous. I didn’t pre-order their newest for other reasons, but the delay did cross my mind.

However, that delay is my only complaint.

The ‘puzzle board’ works well. It assembled easily, fits perfectly in the box. The art seems subdued, the game looks legible. The counters (combat units, generals, and control markers) are nice thick cardboard that punched easily. The rules had one or two odd paragraphs, but seem clear enough (I’m probably biased, since I’ve played Sword of Rome, which borrowed several features from this).

Even the insert impressed me. I normally throw these away and bag the pieces, but this one seems to organize the pieces well, and is intuitive. (I may still get rid of the insert, since it will get odd if I sleeve the cards), but that’s just a preference. The physical design is phenomenal.

Now to find out if the game lives up to the hype. (I’d settle for living in the same neighborhood).

Update: Better eyes than mine have found several typos in the rules (and the board!), most trivial but some serious.

Written by taogaming

November 7, 2007 at 11:05 am

Posted in Misc

Tagged with

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I bet if they knew you host this blog they would have gotten on top of shipping a lot quicker . . .

    jacob

    November 10, 2007 at 5:03 pm

  2. The main typo that bothers me is the one that is on the map board. Living rules have always been a fact of life with wargames, though with one this old you’d think they’d be a bit cleaner. Still, its hard to issue a PDF replacement for a map misprint, relatively minor though it might be.

    Ben Kindt

    November 11, 2007 at 8:22 pm


Comments are closed.

