The Tao of Gaming

Boardgames and lesser pursuits

The End of an Era

I just noticed (via Bruno Faidutti) that Adam Spielt is closing up! Wow. I haven’t ordered from A.S. in a long time, but I my first real order of games was back in ’93 from them (several of us went in together, and probably spent $600 or so. Quite a bit for a bunch of students). For several years you had to order from Adam Spielt, or Just Games (in London … I think they closed up shop a few years ago, too), or from one of the few individuals who imported games for resale. Nowadays we have companies importing all over the place (and Rio Grande Games producing for the US market), which undoubtedly hurt those stores that did business shipping to the US.

Anyway, according to their frontpage they’ll be starting a clearance sale soon …

Written by taogaming

October 12, 2007 at 2:22 pm

Posted in Misc

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Never ordered from them, but sad to hear the death of another board game outlet. Up here in Canada, the hobby is growing stronger with more shops popping up in my city.

    jacob

    October 13, 2007 at 2:29 pm

  2. Never ordered from them, but sad to hear the death of another board game outlet. Up here in Canada, the hobby is growing stronger with more shops popping up in my city.

    jacob

    October 13, 2007 at 2:29 pm

  3. I used to put together groups to order from them regularly; the boxes were huge! Since the Euro has been so strong against the dollar, however, purchases in Germany can’t be discounted enough to cover the shipping, which ran about 28%. In other words, it seems to me that the EU killed Adam Spielt.

    JeffG

    October 13, 2007 at 5:16 pm

  4. I used to put together groups to order from them regularly; the boxes were huge! Since the Euro has been so strong against the dollar, however, purchases in Germany can’t be discounted enough to cover the shipping, which ran about 28%. In other words, it seems to me that the EU killed Adam Spielt.

    JeffG

    October 13, 2007 at 5:16 pm

  5. I do wonder if there weren’t process issues too, though – those huge catalogs they printed and sent out to everyone couldn’t have been cheap, and the last few times I’ve ordered from them the games have been horrendously overpackaged, with a box within a box with packing materials in both.

    I also hear there was an ownership/control transition a while ago, and I wonder if that was a factor.

    Also interesting that they called it a day what seems like just a few weeks after putting up a shiny new website.

    I didn’t order from them much anymore, but there were definitely a few games each year I could only get from them (and often ordering direct from Adam Spielt would be cheaper than FunAgain, even for small orders – although I don’t necessarily attribute this to Adam Spielt’s low pricing). Now I’m not sure quite where to go.

    Chris Farrell

    October 14, 2007 at 5:15 pm

  6. Well, the original owner apparently sold out a year or so ago. Other than that, I have no idea.

    Brian

    October 14, 2007 at 11:13 pm

  7. Yes, their service (boxes, catalogues, etc.) seemed a little over the top, but they’ve always been doing that and they didn’t start losing money until recently. Or at least I assume they used to make money.

    Obviously, another major issue is competition. Once upon a time they were the only player in town. Now there are dozens. Enough so that some clever person built
    http://boardgameprices.com/

    JeffG

    October 17, 2007 at 10:35 am


Comments are closed.

