The Tao of Gaming

Boardgames and lesser pursuits

Random Web Stuff de Jour

I really like this War of the Ring Variant. Should mix things up nicely, and changes almost nothing. Of course, the actual expansion should be out soon.

The latest dicetower has over-rated games. People still play Wongar? This game is rated about 6.6, and not in the Top 500. That may make it over-rated, but not grossly so. Tom’s #10 is a game I’ve never even heard of, so whoever is praising it needs a better PR rep. Ah, I see it has multiple names. I have heard one of them. You can argue that some games on the list are over-rated, but as always, there are head scratchers.

I declined to pre-order Here I Stand, but I got interested last week and read the rules. (Warning — it’s not light reading). Chris’s review confirms that I have to try this.

Caylus has apparently started showing up. But not locally. Grr. Right now it’s unclear if I’ll own a copy before my 100th game.

Update: 100th game by a nose! Soon after the century mark I get the call that my copy had arrived …

Written by taogaming

March 22, 2006 at 5:34 pm

Posted in Misc

Tagged with , ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Loopin Louie is overrated? How can the greatest game ever be overrated?

    frunk

    March 24, 2006 at 1:46 pm

  2. The Houston Gamers haven’t played yet:

    I made a player aid (?) (probably not very helpful…)

    Todd Derscheid

    March 27, 2006 at 9:04 pm


Comments are closed.

