The Tao of Gaming

Boardgames and lesser pursuits

The Green Lidless Eye

Via Boardgamenews, I found this paper on Collaborative Games (focusing on Lord of the Rings). It contained a shocking revelation:

I could have been quoted in a scholarly journal if I’d made my website’s name a bit more formal.

[I suppose I’d have to write something insightful, too]. In any case, I kowtow towards those who have been cited. Feel free to gloat in the comments.

Written by taogaming

March 1, 2006 at 5:57 pm

Posted in Non-Gaming

Tagged with

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’m a tenure-track professor, so getting cited is something important for my continued employment. (no pressure or anything, just make sure other people talk about you…) I’ve realized one key part of this is self-promotion and marketing; you can have stuff out there, but if you don’t bring it to people’s attention, then your chances of being cited are lowered. (On that front, you can enjoy my academic writing at http://bibliomining.com/nicholson/)

    One of my advisors along the way gave me some advice about being citied – he said to be cited, you just need to:

    – Say it first,
    – Say it last,
    – Say it best, or
    – Say it worst.

    I’m trying to avoid that last one…

    Scott Nicholson

    March 2, 2006 at 6:54 am


Comments are closed.

