The Tao of Gaming

Boardgames and lesser pursuits

More Caylus Strategy

I’ve uploaded v1.2 of my strategy file, and added in Tom’s concept of Transformational Efficiency, a more detailed look at prestige buildings, and what not. (I actually wrote a bit over the weekend, so I’m not entirely sure what’s new). I also added links to various BGG threads of note.

Now that I’ve played 25 games (finished #25 an hour ago), I may start playing some other games on BSW again.

Update: I could have titled this “Almost 10,000 words about Caylus”.

Written by taogaming

January 19, 2006 at 11:41 pm

Posted in Caylus

Tagged with ,

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You need to find someone, somewhere to give you a master’s degree for this.

    Alfred Wallace

    January 20, 2006 at 12:20 am

  2. I think you left out a key use for the gate: you can use it to guarantee last position in the castle. This is obviously useful if you can outbuild your chief competitor (encouraging him to build less, so you can build less keep your options open for next turn). It is less obviously useful if you can both build the same amount, which forces your opponent to expend his cubes to build the maximum (and probably puts you in the driver’s seat for next turn’s favor).

    By corollary, players sometimes fail to contest castle building when another player with more resources has already committed. I think this is a mistake if it lets that player get the building favor cheaply and maintain his resource dominance. (I think you allude to this idea in a later section.)

    Both of these issues show up more in 2 and 3 player games.

    (BTW, there’s an error in the last line about the gate under “Specific Locations” which refers to the Inn instead of the Gate. And the second paragraph under “Flexibility” looks like it was a victim of a hasty cut/paste.)

    alex

    January 20, 2006 at 8:24 pm

  3. I think you left out a key use for the gate:

    I actually added that as a seperate section (“Resource Hogs and the Castle”, but I should mention it at the Gate location, too).

    Thinks for the other note, I was working and had to quit last weekend, and forgot about that section.

    Brian

    January 21, 2006 at 3:12 pm

  4. I think you left out a key use for the gate:

    I actually added that as a seperate section (“Resource Hogs and the Castle”, but I should mention it at the Gate location, too).

    Thinks for the other note, I was working and had to quit last weekend, and forgot about that section.

    Brian

    January 21, 2006 at 3:12 pm


Comments are closed.

