The Tao of Gaming

Boardgames and lesser pursuits

The Hundred — 61 – 70

Now that everyone is relaxed and friendly, the latest Ten.

Scrabble shows up at #70. I’m going to shock everyone — it should be higher on the list! What can I say, the fact that several million people who’ve never heard of Euro games play it counts for something.

Flascenteuful at #69. You know, I sound like a broken record, but it’s one of those trick taking games that is actually interesting. And, in my mind, the most thematically correct card game I’ve ever seen. (Maybe the only one). I’ll admit that I’ve been tempted to rate this a seven.

I recently (OK, last year) bumped my rating of Ave Caeser [#68] up to a seven. [For most people, seven is low, but that means it’s a borderline Top 100 in my book, for those keeping score at home].

I just bought the expansion to Citadels [#67], so I can’t really argue. Hey, I wonder what’s in the expansion? I should open it….

Elfenland [#66] did win a Spiel des Jahres. I’ll consider it a substitute for Elfenroads, which I prefer and would still own if I hadn’t gotten a very nice offer for my collection of White Wind games (of which I played only two regularly. The other is Sante Fe, which I consider to be the finest of the lot and a borderline candidate.

History of the World [#65] has never intrigued me, but I know lots of people like it. Moving on…

Seeing as how much I’ve thought about Lord of the Rings: The Confrontation [#64], I’ve got no complaints. I’m debating buying the deluxe edition…

I’ve only played San Marco [#63] once, and it was with four players. Given the debate on “Best with 3”, I may be missing out.

I’ve got mixed feelings on Smarty Party [#62]. The limited replayability is one issue. [I never bought a copy in North Carolina, becuase there were a few floating around. I don’t think Jacqui has ever played]. The other issue is that the cards have certain areas of knowledge that are repeated. (Like games). Also, many of the categories ask for factual answers that may depend on the source and time (like largest countries by population) or completely subjective answers (like famous prisons, or most popular movies featuring actor X). This bothered me more than it should, I think. I think that people could (given a week or so warning) make up their own cards, which would be interesting. Or perhaps just have a website repository of new cards. I think that Smarty Party (as published) falls short of great, but it could be made great quite easily. So, I guess I concur!


Stephenson’s Rocket
[#61] is on the cusp with that ever popular seven rating, but I actually sold my copy. Given that it’s a no luck game, it suffers from the same fate as the 18xx series of games. It’s got enough going on so that new players are going to be hard pressed to beat a veteran.

There’s actually a large category of games that I don’t pull out because the learning curve means that it won’t be as enjoyable. Right now I play Puerto Rico and San Juan mainly online (I’ll teach and play San Juan because it’s a short game). I learned 1830 by losing my first 5-10 games, an investment of 30-50 hours. Many people, even gamers, will get frustrated at that. Titan has a learning curve, but a player could always get obscenely lucky to win. (Several locals have expressed an interest, so I may start tossing Titan in the bag). Stephenson’s Rocket isn’t nearly so bad, I may buy the reprint.

But back to the #100. These games, in general, get the coveted stamp of approval. Some that I wouldn’t personally pick, but nothing egregiously bad. [OK, that’s probably true of the rest, but you know what I mean]. And I’ve gone and checked a few boxes on the geek that say “I want this in trade.” Always nice to be reminded that I don’t own that and wouldn’t mind playing it.

Written by taogaming

November 6, 2005 at 11:58 am

Posted in Ramblings

Tagged with ,

