The Tao of Gaming

Boardgames and lesser pursuits

Gathering Wrapup


I’m back, I’m tired. I’ll spew random thoughts (about new games and other items) over the next few days, when I’ve digested everything. [I’m also going to read all of the Gathering Reports to see what I missed. Rick’s camera is very nice, by the way]. The summary of games played:

  • 7 Ages – 1
  • Acquire – 1
  • Amazonas – 1
  • Around the World in 80 Days – 1
  • Australia – 1
  • Blokus – 1
  • Boomtown – 1
  • Can’t Stop – 1
  • Das Spiel – 1
  • Diamant – 1
  • Fairy Tale – 3
  • Heckmeck um Bratwurmeck – 2
  • In the Shadow of the Emperor – 1
  • Liar’s Dice – 2
  • Leapfrog – 1
  • Louis XIV – 2
  • Manifest Destiny – 1
  • Manila – 2
  • Mystery Prototype – 38
  • Neuland – 1
  • Phoenecia – 1
  • Poker – 2
  • Railroad Dice – 1
  • Reef Encounter – 1
  • San Juan – 3
  • Shadows Over Camelot – 1
  • Struggle of Empires – 2
  • Ticket to Ride: Europe – 1
  • Tower of Babel – 1
  • Ubongo – 1
  • War of the Ring – 3

Yes, I really did play a (finished) prototype 38 times out of 80 games. I suspect that I played it more than anyone else at the Gathering. To be fair, each game takes 20-40 minutes (most on the low side, unless teaching/learning), so I probably played 15 hours or so.

More thoughts later.

Written by taogaming

April 17, 2005 at 8:33 pm

