The Tao of Gaming

Boardgames and lesser pursuits

Unconditional Surrender — Training Scenario I

I am in the unusual position of being an early adopter again. This takes me back a few decades (before BGG, back when I ordered games directly from Germany). But this time, it’s a wargame.

So, I already mentioned that I didn’t expect to get Unconditional Surrender. But I was puttering around yesterday (mild cold) so I punched the counters (3 sheets worth, but lots of special event markers, tracking counters), read the ‘alternate learning method’ for training scenario one. That one basically says “Read X, Y, and Z, skipping these parts) and has you go.

TS1 is “Germany smacks Poland.” Just to give you an idea of scale, this has 8 Polish units (all ground), and 2 German Tanks, 2 Fighters and 5(ish) armies. So, < 20 counters total. The rules teach movement, combat, a few of the special events. Core concepts.

Now, it’s not much of a game yet. Poland’s decisions are “Where do I retreat” and “When do I commit my reserve special abilities.” Germany has all the fun. But it’s something you could teach and play in an hour. Learning it was a bit longer, but I was punching counters (and mild cold).

This is outside of my normal fare, although I like No Retreat [1] as well. And this is most definitely not a Euro you’ll be up and running in a few minutes. It’s not even 18xx where the rules cover an hour and you can stumble along. I’ll have to spend probably a full day to muddle through. (Although I could probably use the other alternate training method of just setting up the main game and reading in the SOP order).

Frankly, the amphibious invasion rules are opaque (Training Scenario II is an amphibious invasion, and has maybe 8 units on the board, but a number of special use counters), but I was not concentrating well (head cold).

So, I’m well north of Indifferent, at least for now, but I have tolerance for these sort of things, even if they are far from my primary game.

[1] (I still haven’t gotten around to playing the North Africa one, so it may just be the Russian Front I like).

PS — Make with the Gathering Reports. Chop Chop. Open Thread in Comments.

Written by taogaming

April 20, 2014 at 9:27 am

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. No Retreat and I continue to stare at each other across the room, though this far it has comfortably avoided multiple brutal winter game purges.

    Ben

    April 20, 2014 at 10:02 am

  2. I’ve posted my Gathering GeekList.

    Anonymous

    April 20, 2014 at 10:15 pm

  3. My Gathering list is up now on BGG.

    Eric Brosius

    April 21, 2014 at 7:58 am


Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 34 other followers

