The Tao of Gaming

Boardgames and lesser pursuits

Fall Media Thoughts

  • I’m caught up on Breaking Bad, and yes, it’s all that.
  • I watched the first season of Damages, and it was pretty good, but the second season premier made me think they’ve run out of ideas. Confirm/Deny?
  • Elementary? Pilot was meh. I’m in for another ep or two, but it had better really pick up.
  • Went to see Looper, and I liked it but I don’t think it’s a great time travel movie.
  • Second Season of Wilfred was a step down, but ended pretty well. A solid B.
  • I’m ready for the Ponds to leave Doctor Who. This season has been solid, but nothing more.
  • I missed Last Resort, d’oh!
  • The Avenger’s Blue Ray …. worth it (IMO), and I don’t buy many movies anymore.
Written by taogaming

September 28, 2012 at 7:30 pm

Posted in TV & Media

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. If you have HBO Go and haven’t gone back to watch The Wire, it is worth it.

    Ben

    September 28, 2012 at 7:47 pm

  2. I’m utterly not ready for the Ponds to leave Doctor Who. Amy is the strongest companion ever on the revived show, and Karen Gillan as Amy is hot hot hot. The writing for her has been terrific. I especially like this whole real life / Doctor life thing they’ve developed this season. The idea of married companions who adventure with the Doctor but live on their own in between is completely new and fresh, and I’d love to explore more of that space. I’ve always liked the episodes that bring in the companions’ families and show how their lives are affected, too. So I’ll be very sad to see the Ponds go.

    Their last episode is on my DVR now, and I’m kind of putting off watching it. Last week’s episode foreshadowed death, with all that talk about “never them, Brian” and “bring them home safe.” And Amy has a history with the weeping angels. So… holding off a little. Maybe tomorrow.

    Peter

    September 29, 2012 at 11:59 pm

    • I do think the Ponds are the strongest companions of the new run, but this season has felt like marking time until they leave. Actually, I think it’s been a solid season, but the a bit too “wink wink” about their impending departure. If I hadn’t *known* last night was their goodbye, it would have worked much better.

      taogaming

      September 30, 2012 at 1:39 pm

  3. Just watched Last Resort last night on iPad on ABC player… could be really good (Andre B. is awesome as always). I’ll stick with it.

    Revolution has some nifty ideas but the overarching mythology is gonna make me crazy.

    Mark "Fluff Daddy" Jackson

    September 30, 2012 at 9:11 am

    • OK, after seeing the Pilot, Last Resort gets a spot on the DVR. But I am warning you… turn into a cheap Lost knockoff and we’ll all burn together.

      taogaming

      September 30, 2012 at 2:27 pm

  4. Okay, so what /is/ a great time travel movie?

    Tucker

    October 1, 2012 at 12:46 pm

  5. I haven’t seen Looper yet, so I can’t compare it. I’d say these range from good to great:

    12 Monkeys
    Primer
    Time Bandits
    Source Code
    Back to the Future
    Terminator 1/2
    Star Trek IV
    Army of Darkness
    Bill and Ted’s Excellent Adventure

    frunk

    October 1, 2012 at 4:58 pm


Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 36 other followers

