The Tao of Gaming

Boardgames and lesser pursuits

Living Just Enough …

… for The City.

At the bonus game day I managed to get in 3 games of The City. The shame of the City is that it’s a german city, full of Engomlecht and Beningbotten and “juede wuerte,” and just enough foreign language to feel really offputting. I’ll be printing out the English paste ups pretty soon and sleeving them with the cards, which will hopefully get the game more play.

As Larry Levy once said, “Just like Tom to build a filler with a learning curve.” The city is a primal “Build Money then convert to VP” engine, with enough different cards and combinations to make the 8 buildings you create interesting. I just wish I could get a copy in English.

Rating — Suggest.

Also played two more games of Eclipse, and a game of Starship Merchants. Still enjoying those. (We’re seeing more early/midgame attacking and traitors in Eclipse, which makes it more interesting).

Finally, got in another game of Age of Industry, and it’s growing on me. Shockingly (for a Wallace game), cash feels a bit too free. And the rules just don’t stick in my mind as well as other games, but I’ve upped my rating. It’s a (mild) suggest. I do like that (for the expansion) all the relevant changes are printed on the map. About time.

Written by taogaming

August 11, 2012 at 11:27 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’ve now played The City 74 times, mostly with my wife Claire, often playing 5 times in one sitting. It’s one of the relatively small group of games she will suggest on her own initiative. We find the language learning curve disappears relatively quickly. I tell people “Ermoglich means Enables because it starts with E, and Benotigt means Needs because it has an N in it.”

    Eric Brosius

    August 12, 2012 at 6:41 am

    • We just had a 5-game session last night (with my son joining in for a few of those). Already at 15 games…

      taogaming

      August 18, 2012 at 9:09 am


Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 35 other followers

