The Tao of Gaming

Boardgames and lesser pursuits

Random Thoughts

The Boy on History of the World  (either not quite grasping things or seeing much deeper than I do) — “It’s like Air Baron, except you still get paid while in Fare Wars.”

I just signed up for two gaming conventions today — That one I’ve missed the last few years and Austin Game Bash. That makes two more formal conventions than I’ve done in the last two years. Longer?

Picked up a copy of American Rails. It’s interesting. It may be that (like Wabash) I’ll only play it a dozen times or so, but I think that the opening will give it a bit more replayability.

Been playing Rocksmith and (have I mentioned this before?) watching Lessons on justinguitar. That’s a good website, so I ordered his beginner songbook. Between the two, I can do a reasonable (terrible) version of a number of songs. I just realized I probably know enough to learn a reasonable Flight of the Conchords set.

Due to scheduling conflicts, I may not get to play any gold events at this year’s regional. Perhaps I should change my goal to “Best Non Life Master EVAR”

Playing lots of Dominion on Isotropic. I expect it will go away in a few months or so….

Update — When I got American Rails, the cards where held together by “Hugo’s Amazing Tape” (which I’ve never used). When I took the tape off the cards, it left a purple stain on them. The tape is supposed to not stick or damage the cards, so that’s a real problem. [It's not a big deal personally, since these cards are just really markers, and it was on the back of the player aid cards]. So, anyone using Hugo’s Tape (or maybe just the purple tape) should check and see how it’s holding up. I’d be interested to hear.

Written by taogaming

June 23, 2012 at 9:06 pm

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Why will isotropic go away

    Michael

    June 23, 2012 at 10:02 pm

    • Several licensed Dominion websites/iOS programs have been announced, and isotropic (like Keldon’s race program) have approval from Rio Grande only until a licensed program starts up.

      taogaming

      June 24, 2012 at 8:48 am

  2. Of course, you realize that the truly classy way to be a non-Life Master is to win a major event like the Spingold but not enter any events that award silver points….

    Eric Brosius

    June 24, 2012 at 6:48 am

    • Yeah, but when the key part of your plan is “Win the Spingold” I think I see the first stumbling block.

      taogaming

      June 24, 2012 at 8:47 am

  3. Are you sure it was Hugo’s tape? It might be bondage tape, which I’ve seen some people over at BGG recommend as a cheaper alternative.

    Jon W

    June 25, 2012 at 12:18 pm

    • The sender said it was Hugo’s. I couldn’t tell them apart, but I imagine he knows what he uses.

      taogaming

      June 25, 2012 at 10:20 pm

  4. Let me know what cards were damaged along with your address. I’d be happy to send you replacements.

    GamesOnTheBrain

    June 29, 2012 at 1:19 pm

    • It’s no big deal, although thank you for the offer. As I said, it was just a bit of marking on the back of two cards.

      taogaming

      June 29, 2012 at 4:27 pm

  5. Fascinating comparison between History of the World (btw, Brief, AH, HAH, or original?) and Air Baron. I can see it, particularly with some play styles for Air Baron…

    Joe Huber

    July 7, 2012 at 7:23 am


Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 30 other followers

