The Tao of Gaming

Boardgames and lesser pursuits

Belfort

… is a perfectly cromulent worker placement game.

To be fair, it was the second game for one player and the first game for everyone else, so it took a Caylus-amount of time, while delivering (IMO) not less bang. But it should speed up more than Caylus, as there are only a handful of fought-over spaces (each player having their own spaces). I have a few nitpicks on how it works; but still cromulent.

Written by taogaming

December 24, 2011 at 11:26 pm

Posted in Reviews

Tagged with

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Merry Christmas to the Tao clan and to all the readers of this blog.

    My description of Belfort in Counter was “it’s a perfectly fine game”, which implies that there’s a “but” to follow. This may be the equivalent of your “perfectly cromulent” or it may not. I didn’t see anything wrong with the game, but its lack of innovation in a crowded field also meant I wasn’t particularly anxious to play it again. It’s very much an efficiency game; that’s usually not a problem for me, but it was so pronounced here that I was yearning for a “bomb”, as Jonathan Degann calls it. Anyway, I’d play again, but it’s not something I intend to seek out.

    huzonfirst

    December 25, 2011 at 9:16 pm

    • Yes, Cromulent was meant as per the original meaning of the word. “Acceptable.”

      taogaming

      December 26, 2011 at 10:12 pm


Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 35 other followers

