The Tao of Gaming

Boardgames and lesser pursuits

A comforting thought

“My insights into Fairy Tale strategy are markedly better than random play.” OK, it’s not that comforting.

Based on feedback, I’m skipping the Neural Network and just going with a correlation matrix (which will eventually evolved). I’ve hardcoded my default correlation matrix (80 x 40) and initial weighting of cards (1 x 40). [Player #1 is the non-random one].

INFO  9859 - GameState - Player #1 won 82 games.
INFO  9859 - GameState - Player #2 won 9 games.
INFO  9859 - GameState - Player #3 won 5 games.
INFO  9859 - GameState - Player #4 won 8 games.
INFO  9859 - GameState - Player #5 won 3 games.

Right now I’m just using a “Play the card you like best each round”, but perhaps I should look at the breakpoints … if I know I won’t be playing two of the cards at all, perhaps theirs a way to let it evolve ways of ordering the rest of the card play.

Now I just have to program a mutator, a serializor and a reaper. Then it’s off to the evolutionary races! (Eventually I’ll need to write a GUI so I can play against it, assuming it gets good enough …)

I’ll write some more bridge in a few days. And some actual game stuff later…

Written by taogaming

May 5, 2009 at 11:15 pm

Posted in Artificial Opponents

Tagged with

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Brian – ran across this – it might be useful in your development:

    http://xkcd.com/534/

    SeanP

    May 6, 2009 at 10:02 am

  2. Very cool. I assume you are playing fairy tale with the advanced cards?

    I think that non-partnership fairy tale is a pretty simple score maximization excercize, once you know the cards. Partnership is much more interesting because you must weigh defensive vs offensive moves.

    Alexfrog

    May 6, 2009 at 12:50 pm

  3. Very cool. I assume you are playing fairy tale with the advanced cards?

    I think that non-partnership fairy tale is a pretty simple score maximization excercize, once you know the cards. Partnership is much more interesting because you must weigh defensive vs offensive moves.

    Alexfrog

    May 6, 2009 at 12:50 pm

  4. Also, as SeanP noted, make sure to add that line to your genetic algorithms, so that you arent to blame for the robot apocalypse :)

    Alexfrog

    May 6, 2009 at 12:52 pm


Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 30 other followers

