The Tao of Gaming

Boardgames and lesser pursuits

Sticky Web

Things of note around this inter-web:

I think everyone knows I like Caylus, but it’s not deeper than Chess.

Incidentally, I’ve played several Padawans recently [it's early to be crowning Jedi] and had reasonable success. I’ll probably write up some more thoughts in a few weeks.

Ekted argues that Simultaneous decisions equals randomness. I don’t prefer to call it random, but that’s really just semantics. Game Theory (sweet, sweet game theory) posits that optimal play usually involves picking the selections randomly with proper odds. In most interesting systems. So the system isn’t strictly random, but it’s effectively random, which is what counts.

I’ve always wanted to try Ardennes ’44, but 10 hours? Pass.

Someone’s got an alternate dice tower advocating Advanced Squad Leader. For a second I thought I’d entered Bizarro-land.

Barnes & Noble’s 75% sale got me a few games. OK, a spare War of the Ring set (which I could sell or trade, or keep in case I ever decide to paint a set, or need spare parts). And several games too terrible to mention on a family site. Or even here. Too bad there were no copies of Doom or Descent left. I’d buy them at $15….

I have weird conversations with my daughter, too. None like this, though.

Personally, I think a bright 6 year old can handle Ticket to Ride.

Written by taogaming

February 17, 2006 at 11:56 pm

Posted in Misc

Tagged with , ,

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. 10 hours for A’44 is pretty high. We do the 6-turn game in 6 hours, and we don’t exactly move at a blinding clip, so there may have been other factors (A’44 is tough for an early wargame, I think).

    Still, it’s not a short game.

    Chris Farrell

    February 18, 2006 at 1:50 am

  2. For me, simultaneous decisions are usually the same as random ones. But that’s because I suck at psychological double-guessing games and such. Trying to outguess an opponent usually bores me as well, so I either flip a mental coin (random) or I try to outguess them, usually poorly (worse than random). However, there are lots of players who are very good at these games, so for them, the games are anything but random. “Chaotic” is probably the best term, but there is certainly skill involved. For some players. Certainly not me.

    It’s weird, because I really like (and am usually pretty good at) games where you try to get into another player’s head (like Montage) or anticipate their actions (like Puerto Rico). I’m not sure why I find one challenging and exciting and the other boring and frustrating. I’m sure a qualified shrink who have some theories, but the prospect of seeing one is just too boring!

    Larry Levy

    February 19, 2006 at 6:42 pm

  3. For me, simultaneous decisions are usually the same as random ones. But that’s because I suck at psychological double-guessing games and such. Trying to outguess an opponent usually bores me as well, so I either flip a mental coin (random) or I try to outguess them, usually poorly (worse than random).

    I sympathize entirely. But after some thought, I realized that what I really don’t care for about most games of the type is the all-or-nothing nature of the resolution of the blind guesses. So, of course, I created one that rewards everyone; you can make better or worse choices, but every place you put a piece will earn you some reward. For me, at least, it was enough to get me to enjoy the game…

    Joe Huber

    February 20, 2006 at 9:01 pm

  4. I was trying to access your old website but it don’t work no more. So what has happened to all of your old reviews?

    jacob

    February 20, 2006 at 11:59 pm

  5. Interesting comments on SAS. Thanks for that link. Posted my reply as a geeklist:

    http://www.boardgamegeek.com/geeklist/13395

    Thi N.

    February 22, 2006 at 1:20 pm

  6. Interesting comments on SAS. Thanks for that link. Posted my reply as a geeklist:

    http://www.boardgamegeek.com/geeklist/13395

    Thi N.

    February 22, 2006 at 1:20 pm


Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 35 other followers

